Book History

Database of incunables held in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich. Free access

Database of names (imprint places, imprint names, personal names and corporate names) as found in books printed before the nineteenth century.

Database of incunables of classical Latin texts (up to the II c. AD) printed in Spain, both in the original language and in Spanish translation. Free access.

Database of incunables of Latin texts (up to Isidore of Seville) held in Portuguese libraries, both in the original language and in Portuguese translation. Free access.

Bibliography of books printed in Italy or in Italian in the 16th century (with holdings of surviving copies). Free access

Database of privileges (guarantees of short-term printing monopoly for individual works) granted by the Venetian authorities between from 1469 to 1545 (work in progress; ultimately, the database will cover the time frame from 1469 to 1603).

Database of surviving copies of books printed in any language in Great Britain and its dependencies in 1473-1800. Free access.

Database of incunables held in over 40 German and Austrian collections. Free access.

Database of incunables in Austrian libraries. Free access.

The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. Free access.

"MEI is a database specifically designed to record and search the material evidence (or copy specific, post-production evidence and provenance information) of 15th-century printed books: ownership, decoration, binding, manuscript annotations, stamps, prices, etc. MEI is linked to the Incunabula Short Title Catalogue (ISTC), provided by the British Library, from which it derives the bibliographical records, and it allows the user at last to combine searches of bibliographical records (extracted from ISTC) with copy specific records."

PATRIMONiT is a database of rare or unique sixteenth-century Italian popular editions held today in the British Library (i.e. not surviving in any Italian libraries).

Database of incunables accompanying the Gesamt­katalogs der Wiegen­drucke. Bibliography of all books published in the 15th century. Ongoing. Free access

A bibliography of books printed in Europe and holding collections from the invention of printing to the end of the sixteenth century. Searches also in Edit16 and VD16. Free access

Database of books printed in German-speaking regions from 1501 to 1600.

Database of books printed in German-speaking regions from 1601 to 1700.

Retrospective bibliography of books printed in Flanders before 1800. Free access

Books printed in Lyon in the 15th and 16th century. Free access (to use the database click on ‘Rechercher’ then ‘compte d’invité’)

Emblematica Online draws from the most important collections of emblematica worldwide. It is hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and its founding partner is the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel. Contributing partners include Glasgow University Library and Utrecht University, which contributed both book- and emblem-level data. Additional contributors include the Getty Research Institute Library and Duke University Library, both of which contributed book-level information.

Database of bookbindings held in the collection; includes 3D visualisation.

Database of bookbindings at the BnF.

A database of bookbindings on incunables held in North American research libraries.

Includes many publishers' bindings

Database of Germanic bookbinding tools managed by the Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

Database of Publishers' Bindings.

Database of bookbindings (14th - 19th c.)

List of signs of ownership found in books held in the Biblioteca Marciana, Venice.

List of signs of ownership found in books held in the collections of the Biblioteca dell'Archiginnasio, Bologna.

List of signs of ownership found in books held in the collections of the Biblioteca Nazionale di Napoli, Naples.

List of signs of ownership found in books held in the collections of the Biblioteca Statale di Montevergine, Mercogliano, Italy.

About 32,000 entries of names and other details of owners of incunables, extracted by Paul Needham from some 200 published catalogues of incunabula.

The Internet Library of Early Journals has digitised substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals. Titles available are: Annual Register, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, The Builder, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.

DigiZeitschriften is a German-language archive of 200 scholarly journals, providing access to over scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries in German, English, or other European languages back to their first volume. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one-fifth of all titles), art, religion, literature, history, economics, and law. You can browse and search by article and journal title, discipline, author, publisher, and ISBN and search in the full text of the articles as well. Text is displayed as image and PDF files.

Created by Robert W. Allison.

Family names and titles of the "Old Siebmacher" (1605–1806) and the "New Siebmacher" (1854–1961) as they can be found in the "General Index of Siebmacher’s Armorials 1605–1961".

Online version of the repertoire of watermarks authored by Gerhard Piccard in multiple volumes starting in 1961.

Database of printers' devices managed by the University of Barcelona.

Database of printers' devices managed by the National Library of Berlin.

Census of books owned by European Jesuit institutions prior to the suppression.

Survey of Tudor England's pamphlet literature.