Skip to main content

Joining and Using the Library

A guide to visiting, finding library collections, using the photocopiers and printing, and how to contact us

Coronavirus Closure updates and FAQs

Visiting the Institute and using the Library 

The Warburg Institute, including the Library, Photographic Collection and Archiveis now closed from Friday 20 March 2020 until further notice in response to official public health advice. 

The library staff are working from home. You can contact us by email aWarburg.library@sas.ac.uk Monday to Saturday 10.00-18.00. 

 

When will the Institute and library re-open? 

We don't yet know when it will be possible for the Institute to re-open. We will be monitoring the situation and following the advice of the UK government, Public Health England and the University of London. Any eventual news about re-opening will be shared here, on our main website and through social media.

 

What resources can I access while the Warburg collections are closed?  

Check our list of databases and e-resources : JSTOR, Patrologia Latina and Acta Sanctorum are accessible to all readers with a valid Warburg Library card; remote access to other e-resources is limited to Warburg staff/students due to licence restrictions. 

To access JSTOR, Patrologia Latina and Acta Sanctorum with your valid Warburg library card, click on the relevant link from our list of databases and e-resources . When prompted enter your name (Firstname Surname) and the barcode number on the back of your library card. 

If your library card has recently expired or is due to run out, we are happy to renew it in order to ensure remote access to these resources while we are closed. Please email us at Warburg.library@sas.ac.uk, including in your message your full name and, if possible, barcode number. 

The Warburg Digital Library (open access) 

Warburg Commons (open access) 

The Warburg Library catalogue includes links from individual records to electronic versions (some links may not be accessible remotely or may only be accessible to Warburg staff/students due to licence restrictions) 

The Warburg Iconographic Database (open access) 

The Warburg Archive CALM database (open access) 

 

Can I renew my reader’s card while the library is closed and maintain access to the library e-resources? 

Yes, we can renew your reader’s card by email. Contact us at  Warburg.library@sas.ac.uk including in your message your full name and, if possible, barcode number. 

 

Can I join the library? 

Yes, you can join the library by writing to Warburg.library@sas.ac.ukPlease see our admission rules at https://warburg.libguides.com/library/access 

While the library is closed, your reader’s card will only give you access to our electronic resources. Please see the list of available resources for all readers here: https://warburg.libguides.com/az.php?t=25344 

 

Is the library still processing Inter Library Loans? 

No, we are not able to process ILL requests while the library is closed 

 

Is the library still processing reproduction requests?  

No, we are not able to process reproduction requests while the library is closed 

 

Updated 24 March 2020