Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microfilm, Microfiche, CD ROM Guide

Grove Dictionary of Music

Grove Music Online is an online version of the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001). This was published simultaneously as a print and online edition. The online version includes regular revisions and additions to the original content and now also incorporates the full text of  The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). GMO also includes a range of searching and browsing features. Through a partnership with Sibelius notation software, over 500 of Grove's musical examples are now available in sound as well as notated examples.

Getting started

Click on the hyperlink Grove Music Online on the ‘CD-ROMs and Electronic Resources’ page (Warburg Institute home page > Library home page > CD-ROMs and Electronic Resources). This will take you to the GMO home page. On this page you will find links to all the different functions of the GMO:

  • A guided tour of the resource
  • A range of searching and browsing options
  • The online listening option
  • Thematic exploration sections

A toolbar at the top of each page and directional arrows at the top of pages within articles allow for ease of navigation through the resource.

Advanced features

GMO offers a range of advanced search options, including

  • Full text searches matching concept or word pattern or combining terms
  • Contributor searches
  • Bibliographical searches
  • Biographical searches
  • External image searches
  • Works-lists searches

It also offers advanced browsing features such as

  • A-Z article browse
  • A-Z contributor browse
  • Research resources listings

Getting Help

GMO incorporates its own help facility, accessed via the ‘Help’ link in the toolbar at the top right of each page. It also includes a special section detailing the use of sound files.