We often get queries about finding in copyright articles (published from c.1920-present) online. Many archives can be found on JSTOR, Project Muse, and Open Access platforms. Many full text articles are available through Senate House Libraries EBSCO subscription for staff and students, and can be searched here through the Encore Discovery platform (go to: https://encore.libraries.london.ac.uk/ and log in)
However, for older, independent and journals with smaller runs (particularly for the subjects covered by the Warburg) they may never been digitised and are still held in copyright.
A reader recently asked about the process for finding these. It depends on the article, but this is a suggested route for the subjects we cover:
Local union catalogues for the UK
JISC Library Hub: https://discover.libraryhub.jisc.ac.uk/ shows print and digital holdings and covers all research libraries in the UK and Ireland.
Search for the article by journal title, author and by article title for holdings (especially useful if the article is older and may be held in a research library as a print offprint)
If the holding library can offer inter-library loan on the article, offprint or journal copy, it’s worth trying to contact them even if they are closed for public health reasons at the moment.
Full text
Google Scholar Advanced Search
Search for the article by title.
Results can be mixed, and it will find a full-text article, including open access versions, where possible. See search tips here: https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html
Google Scholar can be useful also in locating where the article is cited as well as any digital versions. A reader recently found a friend had cited an article she was looking for that wasn’t available in any other library.
International union catalogues:
The KVK is a meta search engine for finding millions of books, magazines and other media in library and book trade catalogues internationally.
It is often worth checking the Internet Archive at https://www.archive.org as they hold the full-text of many digitised libraries.
Art History specific union catalogues:
Art Discovery Network
This is a union catalogue of international art libraries using OCLC WorldCat. Some articles are indexed. See https://artdiscovery.net/
Kubikat is the union catalogue of the four German research institutes in the field of art history. This can be very useful for European journals in that field.
If you still can’t find it, or have further tips, contact us at Warburg.library@sas.ac.uk
0 Comments.