Last week, many publishers and university presses made collections relevant to COVID-19 open access. Librarians have been compiling a list of these resources here: https://twitter.com/jsecker/status/1239200157914353666 [via Dr Jane Secker on Twitter @jsecker]
Some publishers have lifted restrictions to humanities collections as part of this.
The Warburg librarians have been collating what we can find and accessing database trials or unlimited access collections where available. Some are free at the point of access, some are temporarily unlimited through an existing subscription, and some are permanently open access humanities collections.
Loeb Classics Trial for all Warburg and Senate House Library users
We have a 50 day trial from Loeb Classics for readers, staff and students, which can be accessed through our database page here:
https://warburg.libguides.com/az.php
Books made open access and accessible through databases
Johns Hopkins University Press has made all of their books available open access through Project Muse:
| http://0-muse.jhu.edu.catalogue.libraries.london.ac.uk |
Harvard UP’s titles are all currently available across JSTOR: (https://0-www.jstor.org.catalogue.libraries.london.ac.uk), EBSCO: (http://0-web.b.ebscohost.com.catalogue.libraries.london.ac.uk/ehost/search/selectdb?vid=0&sid=871578cf-1817-4fc9-8994-5717c435cceb%40pdc-v-sessmgr06) and ProQuest: (https://0-ebookcentral-proquest-com.catalogue.libraries.london.ac.uk/). Titles will be included through Senate House Library's Encore catalogue. Senate House Library has a subscription for staff and students.
Open Access databases
Mirabile: Digital Archives for Medieval Culture has been made open access until 15 May: https://www.mirabileweb.it
Freemium Collections
École des Chartes books are available through openedition.org https://books.openedition.org/enc/
Existing open access collections from publishers
The Met Museum provides full text access to certain art history publications https://www.metmuseum.org/art/metpublications/titles-with-full-text-online?searchtype=F
Brill has a significant amount of monographs and journals on open access to browse through their site. https://brill.com/page/discoveroa/discover-brills-open-access-content
Taylor and Francis has an open access collection: https://www.routledge.com/collections/11526
You can find many open access databases on our Database A-Z and also in our research guides for art history: https://warburg.libguides.com/arthistory and the history of the book: https://warburg.libguides.com/book-history
Open library of the humanities https://openlibhums.org/
OAPEN.org is a database of the many humanities book titles from different publishers on Open Access: https://www.oapen.org
Humanities Commons is a open access repository for all humanities subjects: https://hcommons.org/
Other libraries with remote access in the UK
The British Library is offering remote access to their e-resources if you are a registered reader: https://www.bl.uk/news/2020/march/access-to-the-british-library-during-temporary-closure
All public libraries have access to the Grove Dictionary of Art, through your local public library ticket (example used here is Camden Libraries as it's local to the Warburg, but this is true in boroughs across the UK: https://www.camden.gov.uk/digital-library)
We will continue to update this post with further resources as they are made accessible.
0 Comments.